Alonso Scores Heroic Spanish GP Win

Alonso—Spain 2013

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso sent his home crowd into raptures by beating Lotus driver Kimi Räikkönen to win the Spanish Grand Prix. He took his second victory of the year and moved into third place in the championship with a four-stop strategy while Raikkonen did three. Ferrari’s Felipe Massa was third and Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel fourth.

Alonso laid the foundations for his victory by moving up from his fifth place on the grid to third with a superlative passing move on the first lap, overtaking both Raikkonen and Hamilton around the outside of the fast Turn Three. It was the Spaniard’s 32nd GP victory of his career — a triumph that endorsed Alonso’s challenge for a third drivers’ title on an afternoon of Spanish supremacy at the Circuit de Catalunya.

Spanish Grand Prix | BBC Sport.


Leave a Reply